Marketing Strategies

All sorts of creative work at one platform

Bank of Baroda announces the Long-list of 12 Nominees of the ‘Bank of Baroda Rashtrabhasha Samman’ Award

Bank of Baroda Picture

The Award recognizes literary works in Indian languages & the translation of these into Hindi, and will be presented to both the original author and the translator

Renowned Author and Booker Prize winner Ms. Geetanjali Shree is the Chairperson of the 5-member jury

Hyderabad/Mumbai, May 24, 2023Bank of Baroda (Bank), one of India’s leading public sector banks, today announced the long-list of 12 Novels, nominated for the first edition of the ‘Bank of Baroda Rashtrabhasha Samman’ Award 2023. The unique award has been instituted to recognize and promote literary works in various Indian languages (included under the 8th Schedule of the Constitution) as well as to make the best Indian literature available to Hindi readers through translations, thereby broadening the interest and making the novels accessible to a larger set of readers.

The ‘Bank of Baroda Rashtrabhasha Samman’ Award will be presented to both the author of the original work and the translator of the book in to Hindi. The author of the original work and the respective Hindi translator of the award-winning book will receive Rs. 21.00 lakh and Rs. 15.00 lakh respectively. Moreover, the authors and the Hindi translators of the next five shortlisted books will receive Rs. 3.00 lakh and Rs. 2.00 lakh each respectively.

Diversity lies its strength and distinctiveness

Unveiling the long-list of nominations, Mr. Sanjiv Chadha, Managing Director & CEO, Bank of Baroda said “India is a diverse country – a melting pot of cultures, religions and languages. And in its diversity lies its strength and distinctiveness. We believe that the promotion of literature across Indian languages helps strengthen our multiculturalism. We established ‘Bank of Baroda Rashtrabhasha Samman’ to recognize and celebrate original Indian language literature  and the translations of these works in Hindi. The ‘Bank of Baroda Rashtrabhasha Samman’ award will offer a national platform to talented Indian writers from different parts of the country and will give a boost to Indian language literature as well as encourage literary translations.”

The five-member awards jury is chaired by renowned author and Booker Prize winner Ms. Geetanjali Shree. The other four jury members are Mr. Arun Kamal, an Indian poet; Mr. Pushpesh Pant, an academic and historian; Ms. Anamika, a contemporary Indian poet and novelist; and Mr. Prabhat Ranjan, a Hindi fiction writer and translator.

The Bank had initiated the process of inviting nominations during the period March-April 2023 and received several entries written in different Indian languages, from which the jury has prepared a long-list of 12 books.

Details of the books are enumerated below in alphabetical order:

Original Novel Name

Original Language

Original Author Name

Translated Novel Name

Translator name

1. Abhipreta Kala


Paramita Satpathy

Abhipret Kaal

Ajoy Kumar Patnaik

2. Allah Miyan ka Karkhna


Mohsin Khan

Allah Miyan Ka Karkhna

Saeed Ahmad

3. Baki Safa 5 te


Roop Singh

Baki Safa 5 par

Subhash Neerav

4. Cheeni Kothi


Siddique Alam

Cheeni Kothi

Arjumand Ara

5. Ek Khanjar Paani Men


Khalid Jawed

Ek Khanjar Paani Men

Rizvanul Haque

6. Fatsung


Chuden Kavimo

Fatsung : Kahani Mitti Ki

Namrata Chaturvedi

7. Ghar Palano Chhele


Manoranjan Byapari

Bhaga hua ladka

Amrita Bera

8. Mahanadi


Anita Agnihotri


Lipika Saha

9. Nadeesht


Manoj Borgaokar


Gorakh Thorat

10. Nemat Khana


Khalid Jawed

Nemat Khana

Zaman Tariq

11. Poimugam




S Bhagyam Sharma

12. Thirakkaatha Jannalkal



Band Khidkiyan

S Bhagyam Sharma